pantoum's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

LYMPHATIC

I have survived the end of another fiscal year (well, my deadlines for it anyway; the actual year end is June 30) and survived it in a state with serious budget woes, but today was pure-T hell for me. Felt really lousy all day, like I'm coming down with the flu or something, and almost broke down and had caffeine just to drag my ass through the long afternoon.

Didn't have the energy to go to the gym and couldn't afford the hour away from my desk anyway, but did manage to avoid caffeine, which, believe me, was an accomplishment.

My lymph nodes are really swollen and it hurts to turn my neck and my eyes are watering and look like raw onions.

I walked over to the law school snack bar and bought some orange juice, thinking maybe I was dehydrated from drinking a couple of beers at last night's cookout. Drank tons of water too, but never felt better and had to drag myself through the million end-of-fiscal-year details to which I had to attend.

The good news is that all of my paperwork, including an elaborately detailed budget for seven departments—including equipment and upgrades and staff training and estimated print jobs and estimated sales figures and what I hope the government rate is for hotel rooms next year—is turned in and we exceeded budget projections for this past fiscal year by a whopping amount, which saved the butts of several other divisions.

The bad news is, I might have mono.

So yeah. My pal Computergrrl, who has been sick for over a week, just left a message saying she has mono.

We had Mongolian food together Friday night and shared an ice cream cone afterwards, so she called to tell me I need to be tested.

I just told her that, if she gave me mono from ice cream, then we are just going to have to make up a better story, which at least made her laugh.

Guess I'll schedule a test. Sigh.

Picked up some tom kar gai on the way home, since a nice bowl of Thai soup makes even the worst day better, and now I'm sitting in my dark living room trying to decide if I have the energy to go outside and sit on my deck.

Ugh. I hate this.

And now I just lit candles for my friend Pottergrrl, who is having The Talk with her estranged husband tonight.

Left a message on my pal Cybrarian's voice mail too, telling her that we probably shouldn't have shared that blood orange ice cream after the cookout last night, since I may have given her mono. (Thanks, friend!) And I told her to keep her saliva to herself till I let her know if she needs to be concerned.

This is all kind of humorous, really. Here's a dyke who has kissed one woman since last July, but I may have the kissing disease. Ironic that. And there really are so many better things to do with your saliva than lick a stupid ice cream cone.

10:23 p.m. - 2005-05-31

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

head-unbowed
rev-elation
refusal
hissandtell
lizzyfer
lv2write00
laylagoddess
connie-cobb
oed
healinghands
ornerypest