pantoum's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

COFFEESPOTTING

It's 8 a.m. and I am sitting in La Trendy Tattooed Coffee Shoppe, drinking a skinny decaf latte, but craving a caffeinated breve.

Talked with my best pal Filmgrrl for a long time last night. I was wrong when I wrote that she would understand if I killed myself. She said yes, she would understand, but she would also kill herself when she got the news. And she was very upset, which made me very upset.

We wound up talking for a long time, but now I am even more glad to be on the other side of that nasty week. Hope I can find a way to still take the week off with her if CeeCee comes to live with me.

Have been trying to figure out what to do with the three letters I wrote and the list of who gets what, which I will definitely keep.

In other news, I told my writing group about my blog and now they are all trying to find it. I don't think they can and really hope that's the case because the less anonymous I am, the more I'll be restricted subject-wise. It's also becoming clear to me that a woman in the group wants to date me (although I don't want to date her). She's asked he just asked me to go one being a weekend trip to Philadelphia to go to the Dali exhibit).

She's an interesting person in some ways—serves on the board of the queer film festival, volunteers at the rape crisis center, and does other good work—but, you know, attraction is subjective and I am not attracted to her. There's nothing. Nada. Nunca. So we need to have a conversation.

In other news, I agreed to illustrate a book of short stories with the understanding that this 1,200-page freelance manuscript I am working on is in queue in front of the project. I haven't illustrated a book in a long while and hope this is a fun project. She's sending some sample stories over soon so I can get a feel for what kind of style is most appropriate.

So the title of this entry is a play on the title of a previous entry but, mostly, today's title is a comment on the fact that I somehow poured my second latte down the front of my white linen shirt as I was getting out of my car this morning whilst attempting to grab my coffee, gym bag, briefcase, and lunch simultaneously.

This means that I drove home to put on another white shirt and soak the coffee-saturated one before I even walked in the door. Whee!

Went to lunch with the HR director instead of the gym today though because she's wise and I wanted to get her take on this whole guardianship thing. She agrees that this would probably be me agreeing to raise my niece to adulthood, which has huge implications for her life and mine. I have to get a little more information from a public school today—like what public camps are available before the next session begins June 16 and what after-school programs are available on an ongoing basis and what these things cost.

Once I get these answers and crunch numbers, I'll call my sister with my decision.

I have already decided this though: If she really does only want CeeCee to live with me during basic training, then I believe that CeeCee should stay in the same town and house where she has always lived (with my mother), because it is too disruptive to ship her to a different state and home for such a brief period of time.

All right, gotta get back to work because I have another meeting in thirty minutes and want to get enough done so that I can escape for a long walk before dark.

1:49 p.m. - 2005-04-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

head-unbowed
rev-elation
refusal
hissandtell
lizzyfer
lv2write00
laylagoddess
connie-cobb
oed
healinghands
ornerypest