pantoum's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

PEZ DISPENSER OR PERSON?

Yahoo! has a big picture of Martha Stewart on its main page today; she's apparently getting sprung from the pokey tomorrow, but has to live under house arrest for several months.

Of course, Martha's house is a 150-something-acre estate with a mansion on it—which will no doubt make her continued incarceration a little easier to endure.

A TV station is apparently airing a special about Martha's life behind bars tonight, but what I want to know is what she will eat first.

Another TV station is using actors to portray the Michael Jackson trial.

Who watches these things? Do you thing they are people who hope to see Martha scrubbing a toilet or the lurid details of a child being molested by someone who maybe once looked like a real person but who now just looks like a freaking overgrown Pez dispenser?

Nancy Reagan looks like one now too. And Phyllis Diller always did. As did Cloris Leachman.

(Now, tell the truth. Can't you just see their heads flipping back and a piece of colorful candy shooting out of their necks?)

Meanwhile, I am pondering whether to call a woman who gave me her phone number last week. (Why haven't I called her yet?) Three women, in fact, hit on me that night, but I only kept the telephone number of this one because she seems potentially interesting.

I am so damn ambivalent about this whole dating thing, but I suppose I better decide soon or she won't even remember me!

Wonder how much of my indecisiveness stems from that weird interaction with Buzzcut?

Musicgrrl (a dear one) says that Buzzcut and I spent too much time in our heads when our reality was very simple: Our bodies were attracted to each other. And we made that attraction just about as complicated as we possibly could. That's a choice though, as she reminded me.

She suggests that I choose to just be with my attractions right now and learn to enjoy how much I can enjoy them.

But blah blah blah and my carrot sticks are gone, so I must get back to work now.

LISTENING TO: Lucernarium: Paravi lucernam Christo meo, performed by Chants De L'Eglises Milanaise

READING: Rodale's Successful Organic Gardening (because springs a'coming!) • the latest issue of This Old House magazine, even though I no longer live in my cool old house (sigh)

3:50 p.m. - 2005-03-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

head-unbowed
rev-elation
refusal
hissandtell
lizzyfer
lv2write00
laylagoddess
connie-cobb
oed
healinghands
ornerypest