pantoum's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

BACKSLIDING AWAY

321.

Our 80� weather recently backslid into freezing rain and sleet, so I have put away my tank tops and shorts and am now bundled up in fleece and thanking the stars for the fact that I started my basil and parsley and oregano plants indoors. Hope my hostas and daffodils and tulips and hyacinths are not suffering too much out there!

I�m sitting in a downtown dive where dykes and hets mingle freely and where I can smoke and drink and work on my blog without interruption. I�m sure that Pottergrrrl would (rightly) say that the fact that I bought a pack of Marlboros is just one more example of the fact that I don�t take my health seriously. And she�s right, but, you know, I�d rather sit in here with the sinners and enjoy a few cigarettes and beers than go home and stare at the huge pile of Pottergrrrl gifts that I probably need to donate to charity.

I recently returned her left-at-my-home items, so at least those are gone now.

And what were these items on my floor? Well,

� a coffee mug from Bruegger�s bagels that I used to fill with coffee before leaving the mountains at 5 AM

� a Tupperware container that I used to fill with a lunch for her before she departed for the mountains

� loose jasmine tea (because, yuck, why would you drink jasmine tea when Earl Gray is readily available?)

� a tea sock that reminds me of a shit-stained natural fiber rubber that some sadly endowed man hung out to dry

� a well-designed stainless steel tea stick that I put in Pottergrrrl�s stocking

� five CDs that she wanted me to burn because she thinks she�ll lose them in the divorce

� one container of Shaheen halawa pistachio that I will never eat because I don�t have a sweet tooth

� one pair of lavender bedroom slippers with fuzzy white fleece linings that just ain�t my style

� a Monet-print travel bag containing a toothbrush and other essentials,br>
� a beautiful handmade batik bag containing, among other things, and incredibly sexy black silk teddy with feathers plus two pairs of black gloves plus one pair of incredibly sexy black stiletto heels that I�m pretty sure belong to her daughter

� a large black winter hat that sat on the head of one of my sculptures

� a half-filled jar of her mother�s granola

� a jar of her homemade lotion

� four heart-shaped candleholders that she bought for my birthday dinner

� a copy of The Best of Gourmet from which I had been copying recipes, and

� two bags of newborn gifts that she purchased for the daughter of a coworker.

And let�s don�t even discuss the assortment of new accessories that I ordered just before she dumped me over email�the ones that will, I suppose, sit in my briefcase of goodies awaiting some other woman who fantasizes about seeing me in a black leather collar. .

I�m glad her daughter picked up her stuff, but must say that those incredibly sexy, elbow-length black gloves made me realize why people develop clothing fetishes. In fact, I am wondering why I didn�t keep them. .

(Would that have been so wrong?)

Ah well. At least I can sit in this dark, smoky room and listen to Johnny Cash cranked up real high. He never got over those blue eyes you know. (And can I just say that I am very glad that my Powerbook has an illuminated keyboard?)

�.

So, despite the blatant homophobia peppering our fair country�thanks in no small measure to the Religious New Right�s need for a call to alms after the fall of Communism�the New Hampshire House voted 207-125 against a proposed amendment to define marriage as a union of one man and one woman. But, ionterestingly enough, the same live free or die state does not recognize gay marriages or civil unions performed in other states. .

I�m sure the same tired old arguments about gay marriage leading to legalized bestiality and polygamy reared their ugly heads during this debate but um you know you could make the bestiality argument for multi-gendered couples now using this same reasoning:

one male German shepard plus one female French-kissing Debra Winger equals one heterosexual union right?
.

And, frankly, this whole polygamy argument seems to benefit misogynistic straight milquetoast Mormon men a whole lot more than it benefits queers anyway. And we have already established that polygamy and bestiality are illegal. It�s old law. But these same bigoted mindsets that used to insist that African-Americans should not be allowed to marry�which at least resulted in the creation of the cool ritual of jumping over the broom�now use this same reasoning to insist that homosexuals are not entitled to the same rights that other citizens enjoy. .

And hey did anyone else notice that Kris Kristofferson has a new CD?

11:35 p.m. - 2006-4-8

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

head-unbowed
rev-elation
refusal
hissandtell
lizzyfer
lv2write00
laylagoddess
connie-cobb
oed
healinghands
ornerypest