pantoum's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

GREAT BIG HEDONISTIC PIG BOMB

(No. 231 � Tuesday � 23 August 2005 � 8:30 PM) Met my friend the feminist archivist tonight for drinks. My gawd is she a cool woman�and such a force to be reckoned with! She has actually managed to get Ellie Smeal to speak at one of her events, which is just unheard of. I told her she deserves a big fat raise AND a big fat kiss from her new husband for that scoop, then tried to convince her to go down some nearby Class 4 rapids in her kayak�a stretch of a nearby river that features four-foot waterfalls that Tree took me down the very first time I climbed into a C1�but she was smarter than I was and wasn�t about to bite.

Interestingly, she works with someone who knows my FTM ex who is now a whitewater guide, and she promised to get me information on how to contact him.

We gossiped and laughed and talked for a long time and I showed her pictures of my baby brother�s wedding and the art that Pottergrrl and I have been making and she told me that the gothic wonderland is footing the bill for housing an incoming scholarship student who contacted admissions and the LGBT Center to ask what resources are available for guys who are just coming out and who are being kicked out of their house by their parents. Gotta love that the university set him up in an apartment for the summer!

I disliked some things about working at the gothic wonderland�watching my back constantly amongst them�and know after moving to my public university that my values align more closely with a public-university, but let's be frank: The gothic wonderland offers domestic-partner benefits and has an active LGBT task force and had the most amazing (albeit one with a watching-your-back prerequisite) English department before it imploded, and the university actually takes hard stands such as this on occasion while my public university is still beholden to this often-backward state�s legislators.

Meanwhile, I am cooking ground turkey in a lovely roasted garlic sauce with whole-wheat spinach linguini and good Argentinian parmesan. This will be lunch and dinner for the rest of the week.

(Wednesday 8:30 AM) And now I�m in my favorite caf� having a decaf (sigh) latte and shaking my head at the latest thing that idiot Pat Robertson has done to get in the news.

You�ll remember that, in 1998, he said that Gawd was hitting Florida with hurricanes because of gay days at Disney. Then he condemned the United Nations for trying to make one world government. And now he is making terrorist statements on TV, telling his loyal Christianists�while no doubt adding that Gawd insists that they should send Pat more money�that the US should assassinate Venezuelan president Hugo Chavez.

We have the ability to take him out, and I think the time has come that we exercise that ability,
he said on the PTL Club (1 million + viewers).
We don't need another $200 billion war to get rid of one, you know, strong-arm dictator. It's a whole lot easier to have some of the covert operatives do the job and then get it over with. ...You know, I don't know about this doctrine of assassination, but if he thinks we're trying to assassinate him, I think that we really ought to go ahead and do it. It's a whole lot cheaper than starting a war ... and I don't think any oil shipments will stop.

Perhaps someone should tell Pat that he uses too many You Knows and that he is in desperate need of a Ten Commandments refresher course.

Come to think of it, doesn't this mean that he is only a Bible literalist when it comes to making homophobic statements, since �Thou shalt not kill� is pretty dang straightforward.

Interestingly, the White House has had little to say about this, perhaps because they�re beholden to the Religious Right and Chavez is such an outspoken critic of W.

This prompted the following line in Yahoo�s story:

[Robertson�s statements] reveal that religious fundamentalism is one of the great problems facing humanity in these times.

BEST OF SPAM SUBJECT LINES: dont you think it�s dumb? (Why yes. Yes I do.)

3:04 p.m. - 2005-08-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

head-unbowed
rev-elation
refusal
hissandtell
lizzyfer
lv2write00
laylagoddess
connie-cobb
oed
healinghands
ornerypest