pantoum's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

ALL QUIET ON THE SUNBURN FRONT

(No. 222 � Monday) The board finalized chorus concert dates and themes this past weekend, so I just stepped into the telephone booth and emerged in my Bird�s Art-o-matic Services outfit. Am printing a six-up bookmark�a minimum of 500 of which are due at the LGBT film festival no later than 5 PM on Wednesday�that I just designed in a big rush a few minutes ago. Then I�ll cut the printed sheets into bookmarks in a few minutes. Also located two of the three images I need to create the chorus marketing display, which is also due by 5 PM on Wednesday. I�ll search clip art in a little while for a third image, then just make something up if I can�t find anything.

I presented my e-publishing policy draft to the publications committee at work this morning. It�s always draining for me to do presentations and this one met with some resistance. At least I know where the resistance will come from now though. And I finally got agreement on one of the two most controversial changes in the policy.

And Pottergrrl asked me how she can reconcile my shyness with the fact that I reveal so much on this blog. I thought about this for most of the day, then sent a long reply, told her that I consider my blog to be a semi-anonymous-yet-semi-public emotional processing ground, a place where I record my observations about the world around and within me, the details of how this one person is trying to live my life with some semblance of authenticity and examine the things that color my journey.

To me, saying personal things about myself in this arena gives the whole process the feel of a sociological experiment or writing capsule, makes my writing process feel like something bigger than and divorced from me too, I reckon.

I also told her that I very occasionally stumble upon a blog that leaves me feeling as if I�ve found a kindred spirit and want any other kindred spirits who happen to stumble upon my blog to relate to my words precisely because I managed to capture a truth or emotional difficulty or observation accurately.

And now I�ll just quote my explantion:

r.e. my shyness. I am sometimes uncomfortable interacting with people face-to-face, with being in the spotlight, being noticed. This doesn�t really extend to my writing though unless I�m giving a reading or have to accept an award or a fan comes up to say how much she or he likes my writing (eep! And this does happen on occasion too).

Writing is intimate to me though. And it requires honesty, is not very good without it. So I don�t feel any compulsion to withhold my deepest feelings when I am my writing and, in fact, usually try to find them there.


6:06 p.m. - 2005-08-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

head-unbowed
rev-elation
refusal
hissandtell
lizzyfer
lv2write00
laylagoddess
connie-cobb
oed
healinghands
ornerypest