pantoum's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

COMING OUT . . . AT A GYM NEAR YOU

I have discovered through trial and error that drinking 8 oz. of orange juice 45 minutes before my workout gives me the most energy and decreases the likelihood of leg cramps. My torn tendon didn;t hurt today either, so I was cruisin; along on the elliptical cross-trainer.

Am wearing a worn-out LGBT film festival T-shirt (Coming Out at a Theatre Near You . . . 1997) that has two different colors of paint spilled on one breast—actually, it looks as if I stuck my breast against two painted walls. I also ripped the collar off the shirt some time ago, so it is really comfortable, but worn.

Anyway, young student who work-studies at the gym and reads the Bible in between swiping our ID cards was reading God's Gift to Women today when I walked in wearing this T and I really don't want to know what kind of bullshit about voluntary submission she is being fed, but her eyes got big when she read my shirt.

•

Meanwhile, a print-room assistant's mother died on Saturday. He called her Girlfriend, as in "Girlfriend went to the movies yesterday."

Girlfriend had Alzheimer's disease, but he managed to keep her at his home until about six months ago, when she wandered off while he was at work. Then he put her in a home.

He felt horribly guilty about doing this until the local paper ran a photo of Girlfriend hitting a hole-in-one while out on a nursing-home excursion.

3:20 p.m. - 2005-04-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

head-unbowed
rev-elation
refusal
hissandtell
lizzyfer
lv2write00
laylagoddess
connie-cobb
oed
healinghands
ornerypest