pantoum's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

OBSCENITIES

When I lived in DC I had a bag of stickers that said A Lesbian Was Here and, whenever I saw an obnoxious bumpersticker on an unoccupied vehicle, I stuck one of these stickers on it.

I still have a few of those labels left and think it's time to pull them out again.

In yesterday's New York Times, columnist Maureen Dowd talked about our politicians

turn[ing] the nation into a wholly owned subsidiary of the church

and made the interesting point that

as the Bush White House desperately maneuvers in Iraq to prevent the new government from being run according to the dictates of religious fundamentalists, it desperately maneuvers here to pander to religious fundamentalists who want to dictate how the government should be run.

A Times reader's commented about the ridiculous cardiologist/politician Dr. Frist—whose hand I've actually shaken, since he and his daddy 's monster Hospital Corporation of America swallowed up our local hospital back when I worked there—actually rediagnosing Terry Schiavo by video.

I didn't realize that the cardiologist became a neurologist in his time off. Must have taken a course by mail, er, video in all his extra time.

Here's what the reader said:

Americans ought to send Bill Frist their requests: "Dear Dr. Frist: Please watch the enclosed video and tell us if that mole on my mother's cheek is cancer. Does she need surgery?' "

This might just be line-item budget exhaustion, but today I am overwhelmed and depressed today and no damn good for anything so plan to just go home and not subject anyone to me.

BUMPERSTICKER SIGHTING: A yellow ribbon graphic with a big X over it and the words Tie a Yellow Ribbon around Your Neck.

12:03 p.m. - 2005-03-29

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

head-unbowed
rev-elation
refusal
hissandtell
lizzyfer
lv2write00
laylagoddess
connie-cobb
oed
healinghands
ornerypest