pantoum's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

EDUTAINMENT

Woke up groggy and so am writing instead of doing catas. Sat on my wet deck drinking my first cup of decaf con leche and watching the sun come up. Now I'm drinking a cup of decaf con butter-pecan ice cream (since I ran out of cream).

Today is line-item budget day, broken up by pilates at noon, broken up by mapping the content management system we're building, broken up by driving two towns away to return a contract project before chorus rehearsal.

An earworm from my grad school days is stuck in my head, and I have no idea how it got there.

When I lived in DC, the rap star KRS-1 played at Howard University all the time. This was at the height of the Afrocentric education movement and many of his songs were (by his own definition) edutainment. A favorite explains why the twelve tribes of Israel had to be black and I'm writing this from memory, so forgive any errors:

Genesis, chapter 11, verse 10, explains the genealogy of Shem. Shem was a black man in Africa. If you repeat this fact they can't laugh at ya.
Genesis 14, verse 13, Abraham steps on the scene. Being a descendent of Shem, which is a fact, means Abraham too was black. Abraham, born in the city of a black man called Nimrod, grandson of Ham.
Ham had 4 sons. One was named Canaan. Here, let me do some explaining. Abraham was the father of Isaac. Isaac was the father of Jacob. Jacob had twelve sons, for real, and THESE were the children of Israel.
According to Genesis, chapter 10, Egyptians descended from Ham. Six hundred years later my brother, re-up, Moses was born in Egypt.
In this era, black Egyptians weren't right. They enslaved black Israelites. Moses had to be of the black race because he spent forty years in Pharoah's place. He passed as the Pharoah's grandson, so he HAD to look just like him.
Yes my brothers and sisters take this here song. Yo! Correct the wrong. The information we get today is just daft but ask yourself, why is that? . . .The government you have elected is inoperative. . . .

All right. It's 7:30 and time for me to iron clothes and take a shower.

LISTENING TO: Damn Crazy by disappear fear: (I know I'm lazy, but I'm so damn crazy for you. . . .)

READING: Midnight Call: The Prophetic Voice for the Endtimes. Whee!

8:57 a.m. - 2005-03-29

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

head-unbowed
rev-elation
refusal
hissandtell
lizzyfer
lv2write00
laylagoddess
connie-cobb
oed
healinghands
ornerypest