pantoum's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

CATFISH RAIN

Woke up to the pleasant sound of rain and the lingering smell of fried catfish this morning. That was one tasty dinner if I do say so myself. Buzzcut liked it, too.

We watched my all-time favorite film Housekeeping last night. Have been wanting to share it with her (plus, everyone should get a good glimpse of Christine Lahti's dimples back in 1988). We also watched a documentary about vanishing South Carolina towns that her father produced and edited many moons ago, and man was it good.

My state of origin is just too conservative for the likes of me, but Pat Conroy is right about the landscape pulling on people who were raised there.

I swear, something physically shifts in me when I catch a glimpse of the low country, when I first encounter those marshes and that coastal smell.

There's this one particular spot driving into Charleston that makes my entire chest expand involuntarily when I see it. I swear, something physically shifts in me when I catch a glimpse of the Lowcountry, when I first encounter those marshes and that coastal smell.

(And now I REALLY want to go to the beach.)

I have been thinking about landscapes today.

The landscape memory that is has the most permanent spot is my brain involves a massive field of peach trees that workers were burning at dusk. I came over a hill and that's all I could see on either side of meā€”trees on fire. I wrote about it in my

LISTENING TO: Black Is the Color performed by Tears for Beers. Ponder this: Germans singing Irish and pulling it off.

1:13 p.m. - 2005-03-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

head-unbowed
rev-elation
refusal
hissandtell
lizzyfer
lv2write00
laylagoddess
connie-cobb
oed
healinghands
ornerypest