pantoum's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

THE EROTIC MADAME X

329.

I wonder about so many things�I wonder why John Singer Sargent, the famous Edwardian portrait painter whose erotic portrait of Madame X caused such a scandal, abandoned portraits in 1910 and only painted murals and landscapes for the rest of his days.

I wonder why I inevitably forget to water the orchids that live in my office window till they look well nigh pitiful but have no trouble remembering to water the orchids that live in my dining room.

I wonder why posting artful nude photographs to Flickr inevitably results in guys sending me links to photos of their hard-ons (which, by the way, has led to my decision to return the favor by posting a friends-only page that includes pictures of my hard-ons: my black one, my green one, my red one, my two-headed one�you get the point�with the same subject line on each: KEEPS ON TICKING. I�ll befriend them; they�ll click to my page, then voila, right back atc�ha, guy).

I wonder why I am attracted to someone�s words, see her photo and think huh she�s cute, then meet her and think uh oh before she�s even finished her hello.

That�s what happened last night, when Cybrariangrrl and I were in the locally owned dyke ice-cream shop talking. My laptop was on the table because I�d been there for an hour or so surfing the Web. Then Cybrariangrrl dropped by to talk and I showed her a picture of Africagrrrl, with whom I�ve been corresponding, and she agreed that she is cute. So we talked a few more minutes before in walked Africagrrrl with her laptop in hand, coming to e-mail ME. A moment of serendipity.

We talked a while, Cybrariangrrl left, then Africagrrrl and I walked around a bit and, truth be told, I got the feeling that she�s like one of those little yappy dogs that latch onto the back of your ankle with their tiny teeth and refuse to let go. And she made way too many assumptions and practically had us defined as a couple already ... and that�s just not going to happen.

And now I have to figure out a polite way to tell her that.

I did tell her that I�m not going to a talk she�s attending tomorrow night because my boss invited me to go to a play with her. And then I�m gone to NYC till next Thursday. She�s definitely in pursuit though, so I�m going to have to nip it in the bud, specifically.

(My pal Cybrariangrrl called later and had the same basic impression that I did.)

Wish I could meet someone who turns my head the second we meet. Pottergrrl did that�she has a spark, a something that I picked up on right away and my eyes followed her around ever since. And the Ginger produced the same reaction in me.

But very few other women have.

And now I have to go to a one-and-a-half-hour meeting. Bleah.


2:56 p.m. - 2006-4-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

head-unbowed
rev-elation
refusal
hissandtell
lizzyfer
lv2write00
laylagoddess
connie-cobb
oed
healinghands
ornerypest