pantoum's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

OKAY, SMARTYPANTS

327.

My title is the subject line of an e-mail I recently received from a woman who read my Craigslist personal (see my entry �sweet�). I believe my headline was CREATIVE SMARTY-PANTS SEEKS SAME.

So here�s her note, which has done wonders for my shattered ego.

I e-mailed her back to say she just won the best reply award. Wish she�d send a photo too though, since attraction is so damn subjective.

Wow.
.
.
.
.
Did i already say "wow?"

With that intro, i would imagine that you have every single, single woman in town falling in love with you (and the ones that aren't single, may wish they were). So you can go ahead and add my name to what is surely an ever-growing list of admirers.

Okay, so you seem amazing. Yeah, i haven't even met you, and i am more than a bit awe-struck.

I am also more than a bit quirky�i'd say downright goofy, depending on the dynamics. And for what it's worth, lots of friends would also say, "GOO-FEE!!" Some adjectives: quiet; thoughtful; kind; silly; passionate (about exploring life, friends, ideas, places...); optimistic. I live for the possibilities, because i'm a dreamer. (I was trained as an architect even though i haven't practiced.) My version of god is in the air, in the light, in music and mathematics, in the beauty of nature, in the kindness and sweetness of people, in the birds i've been hearing every morning as i wake up...and most likely, in you.

I believe in honesty with a strong shot of kindness. I believe that everything comes out in the wash and that the matching sock is eventually found. I believe in children and patience and gentleness and understanding�and taking the time to understand. I believe in separating the whites and the colors (but i don't believe in bleach). I believe in stream-of-consciousness. I believe in what-if's that are unburdened by reality. I believe in my limits and limitations, while i still believe in never giving up. I believe in consilience and wonder. I believe that sometimes i don't know a darned thing.

And thanks to 40 years of _________ (fill in the blank), i believe in myself.

Well...that's my story and i'm sticking to it.

Cheers.

P.S. Since you mentioned it, i'll tell you that i am a mix of Cajun/French, Mexican, Spanish, Irish, and German.

Like I said. I may be in the doldrums, but she just won the Best Reply contest of the year, so I will reply.

1:04 p.m. - 2006-4-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

head-unbowed
rev-elation
refusal
hissandtell
lizzyfer
lv2write00
laylagoddess
connie-cobb
oed
healinghands
ornerypest