pantoum's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

GUAJIRA GUANTANAMERA (GUAJIRA)

311.

(A translation of a poem by Jos� Mart�, with altered verses and gender pronouns)

I am a sincere woman
from where the palm trees grow.
Before I die, I want to cast out verses from my soul.

I tend a white rose
in June and in January
for a sincere friend, who extends an open hand.

And for the cruel one who tears out
this heart that gives me life.
Neither broths nor salads do I tend.
I tend a white rose.

The leopard has his shelter
In the dry and dusky forest.
I have more than the leopard,
Because I have a good friend.


Last night, as I slept in the pleasure of a dream

I dreamed that I was your owner
and that your soul was mine.
I was dreaming of the ambrosia of your soft caresses
and with the warm softness of your voluptuousness.
Suddenly, reality touched my breast and my passion,
as I saw in desolation
that all was a chimera�
a passing illusion
that destroys the heart.

9:58 a.m. - 2006-03-29

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

head-unbowed
rev-elation
refusal
hissandtell
lizzyfer
lv2write00
laylagoddess
connie-cobb
oed
healinghands
ornerypest