pantoum's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

BARRICADES AND BRICK WALLS

(No. 277 � Friday 12:10 AM) This report about federal marshalls shooting a bipolar traveler really disturbs me and I keep picturing my fragile mother going off her meds and running in terror from them as they mow her down. (And I don't even want to try to imagine what his poor wife felt as she ran behind her husband trying to calm him down before he got himself killed for not conforming.)

Buzzcut's father suffered from a bipolar disorder and was in a similar situation not too long ago. She got a call from police in Florida saying that her father had barricaded himself in a Miami hotel room, set his pillow on fire, and was screaming that he had a bomb and would blow the whole freakin� town up.

Unlike these federal agents though, the Miami cops recognized that they were dealing with a mentally ill man who just needed his meds and somehow managed to cart him off to an asylum instead of killing him.

(It still amazes us both that they didn�t just shoot him thuogh.)

(And the fact that these marshalls were probably just following routine post-9/11 protocol, but this story breaks my heart.)

And now I�ll end this depressing entry with a quote from the dead man�s eleven-year-old niece, who describes her uncle this way� �If I caught lizards and accidentally killed one, he would almost be kind of sad. He would say, �What if that happened to you?��

But next time I'll write about sex, baby. I'll talk about you and me ... or at least something cheerier than this post. Promise.

BEST OF SPAM: You need this wall (thanks but I�ve got too damn many of my own already erected).

12:33 p.m. - 2005-12-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

head-unbowed
rev-elation
refusal
hissandtell
lizzyfer
lv2write00
laylagoddess
connie-cobb
oed
healinghands
ornerypest