pantoum's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

LIKE A ROLLING ... WASHING MACHINE?

220.

The following, along with an article about the first-grade class that toured our publications division (with a dippy-ass picture of me), appears in a newsletter I�m proofing all about delegates from three counties with burgeoning immigrant populations. These delegates toured Mexico as part of our university�s Latino Initiative and one says the following:

In Oaxaca, we met two women who had received a small micro-enterprise loan and had used the funds to purchase a washing machine, which they placed on a dolly and pushed from house to house as a mobile laundry service. They would simply plug into a home�s power source, haul in well water to wash, then hang the washed clothes on the line to dry�a clever business solution in a culture where household appliances are uncommon.

Very enterprising indeed.

And here�s a tidbit I just came across: wages sent home from the US are now the number one revenue source in Mexico, surpassing even oil revenues.

Huh. Yet another reason for me to take a refresher Spanish course, since I mostly just remember the word zapatas coz I liked it.

It�s 7:30 PM and I�m trying to wrap things up so I can leave for a three-day weekend at the beach. Most of tomorrow will be play, then the chorus board will meet for a seafood dinner. Then tomorrow will be all work ( on our five-year plan), but we will probably go walk on the beach after dinner, at least. Sunday morning will be work too, but then we'll all go to the beach before heading home.

Meanwhile, Pottergrrl asked to read my novel. (gulp) I�ve been incorporating a whole new level in it�the narrator now has a fascination with archeology because I needed another layer of buried things and this fits nicely. I�m nowhere near done with this addition though, so I�m taking a printout of an earlier stage to the beach with me to read. If it�s too far removed from where I am now, then I think I�ll just wait till the archeology section is done before giving her a printout.

Can you say stall?)

Okay. Here is something about me some people do not know: I write good love letters. I also make sexy phone calls. And I am having some kind of a wonderful time doing both.

Okay. Gotta change my voice-mail message, leave an out-of-office message on my work e-mail, and then get the Hell out of Dodge!

TIll Monday, y�all.

7:23 p.m. - 2005-08-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

head-unbowed
rev-elation
refusal
hissandtell
lizzyfer
lv2write00
laylagoddess
connie-cobb
oed
healinghands
ornerypest