pantoum's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

ANEURISM

My fifty-two-year-old uncle just died of a brain aneurism. He was my favorite uncle, the only one of my mother's three brothers who isn't a freak. (Hey is a mean Klansman redneck whose wife is just as mean and bigoted as him; Henry is cooler, but still one of those racist survivalist freaks who stockpiles food for the coming war against our goverment and stopped paying taxes because "that ain't MY guvment." And her sister Becky is the world's biggest freak. And a mean one.

I know my mother has a paranoid schizophrenic disorder, but she seems normal and really nice compared to the three of them.

She and Don were the only nice ones. He went into the reserves early to pay for college, but got sent to the Persian Gulf war and had health problems ever since returning.

Uhm. Am just sitting hee thinking how weird it must be for my mother to lose her baby brother. I don't think I could even form a sentence if something happened to Lad and that would leave a hole in my life that nothing could ever fill.

The plan was for me to drive down to South Carolina on Thursday afternoon and pick up CeeCee for Camp Bird, drive her back to South Carolina on Sunday, spend the night, then return home on Monday. Just called my boss and took Tuesday off, figuring my mom needs some extra time sans child. May drive down tomorrow morning instead of evening too, but want to find out when the funeral is first.

Also want to talk with Pottergrrl, who has already packed kids games and stuff for us to do at Camp Bird. She plans to arrive at my house Friday night around 9, so I need to be able to tell her if we'll still be there then. Guess we need to figure out a Plan B if the funeral is on Saturday instead of Friday.

We could just wait another week. Or I could drive the the mountains on Friday and pick her up so that we could drive to South Carolina Saturday a.m. (if she wants to go, that is). And we could still pick up CeeCee. Guess we'd drive Pottergrrl back to the mountains though instead of coming home, and then I'd return CeeCee on Monday and drive back home on Tuesday.

Wow, that's a lot of driving. And oh this is too fucking complicated and there's so much up in the air at the moment ... and I better get busy because I have less time to do some things I need to get done all of a sudden.

Poor Uncle Donald. Poor kids. Poor Mama.

10:52 a.m. - 2005-07-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

head-unbowed
rev-elation
refusal
hissandtell
lizzyfer
lv2write00
laylagoddess
connie-cobb
oed
healinghands
ornerypest