pantoum's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A DOG NAMED HAPPY

Gotta be fast so I can jump in the shower, then strip my bed and put the sheets in the washer so that Pottergrrl will have nice clean sheets to sleep on tonight.

Went to sleep at a decent time for me (12:45 AM)—or at least went to bed then—which means I woke up with a little bit of energy for a change instead of just being groggy. Lots of stuff percolating in my head right now too.

Had a wonderful talk with my dear friend Musicgrrl yesterday. She's at the beach but returning in time to direct the chorus Sunday morning when we perform at a Unitarian Universalist pride service.

Musicgrrl is funny. She told me that she has decided that she will, in the second half of her life, dress like me.

I asked her what this means and she said "You know, natural fibers and good lines. Interesting texture and color combinations. Good shoes. Trendy, but with some funk." Huh.

Returning to my southern pronunciation theme, of late to tell you that folks who live in isolated parts of the North Carolina mountains pronounce panther "painter.

This is a holdover from Elizabethan English and indicative of just how isolated those generations were up there, still passing down the language (plus original versions of many English folk songs). The same people say "hit" instead of it, and pronounce the mountain town of Mauney "moony." Folks down east in North Carolina still speak the Queen's English, too.

The editor who lost her mom returned to work yesterday and is overwhelmed from dealing with her mother's complicated will and the million other little things that the lawyers somehow think her mother kept in a nicely organized location. "They obviously don't realize that all of my paperwork is stacked into piles and that I have to sort through those piles to find anything," she said—and boy could I relate.

Ah the busy life.

N's childhood neighbor developed Alzheimer's disease, just as her mother did. This neighbor's white poodle named Happy sat in the picture window and watched the world. Mr. Neighbor eventually placed his wife in a nursing home, where he visited every day and fed her meals. Happy died not long after this relocation, and he struggled with whether or not what to tell his wife. Then he realized that he could just give her a stuffed animal that looked like Happy and she would think that her beloved dog was right there with her. And she did.

Here's an excerpt from a personal ad I came across today:

IM QUIT UNTELL I GET KNOW YOU I DONT TRUST MEN I BEN HURT TO MINE TIME I REALY DONT SPELL VERY WELL BUT I TRY TO I HAVE TREE KIDS 18/16/12YR OLD THE 12 YR OLD LIVES WITH ME IF YOU WANT TO KNOW ME WE CAN TALK AND I CAN ANSER YOU

And, for your reading enjoyment, an introduction to my new personal ad:

Academic artist seeks smart, passionate, quirky femme to laugh and cry and gasp and discover the world with me. I know who I am and what I want, have a quick and far-reaching mind that finds everything from welding to string theory fascinating. I love discovering new things and discussing the possibilities and complexities of our landscape with another smart woman. I'm honest, have integrity, and don't beat around the bush. I believe in love and commitment, but am selective and need my own space. Yeah my heart's been broken just like the rest of ours; I still believe she's out there though—that sensitive, driven, tender, brilliant, stubborn, gentle, kind, compassionate, powerful, passionate woman who believes in words and art and finds as much beauty in the world as I do. Forthright eyes, unexpected kindnesses, and funny little gestures completely disarm me and, try as I may, I can't keep a straight face if you amuse me. (Please do.)

Many things make me happy: walking in the rain, coffee cup in hand and a million ideas percolating; making music; sitting on rocks, drawing birds; tight first drafts; finishing a poem and discovering that I like it; painting; discovering new thinkers and staying up late because I can't quit reading their words; a child's irrepressible giggles; meeting each other and connecting right away and trusting that connection enough to explore it; conversation so good that we lose all track of time; feeling your electric presence on a blanket beside me as we gaze up at the sky looking for Cassiopeia; sleepy eyelash kisses; wide-awake full-tilt passion; honesty.

And here are responses to their boilerplate questions:

WHAT DO YOU DO FOR FUN? Art, music, words, museums, nature walks, theater (I once made sets and loved it), roller coasters, getting lost in long conversations with a woman who recognizes beauty and wonder in everyday objects and gestures.

FAVORITE LOCAL HOT SPOTS OR TRAVEL DESTINATIONS ? Intriguing conversation with an intelligent woman matters more than where or what, but anything on water, good food, theater, indys, exploring funky spaces and intimate places off the everyday physical and emotional path with you.

FAVORITE THINGS? Smarts, finishing the Sunday NYT on Sunday, drawing, rain, exploring this big world, NPR's "This American Life," warmth, compassion, my new digital camera, the right woman. Unbridled mutual ongoing lust. Possibilities. Wonder. Passion.

LAST THING I READ? How to Carve Totem Poles, Schor's Wet: On Painting Feminism and Art Culture, The Pop-Up Book of Nightmares, Pancake's Given Ground, E. Said's Religious Effects of Culture, Freeman's Closing of the Western Mind, Lesy's Wisconsin Death Trip (wow).

PERSONAL SUMMARY: I'm serious but be warned: if we're ever forced to attend an oppressive religious service and need levity, I am apt to make up obscene hymn lyrics and sing them to you very softly, just so I can see your laugh lines crinkle as you struggle to keep a straight face.

I'm also a good cook, but a bad baker. (I just hate following recipes. Tasting and starting from there makes me much happier and keeps me on my tows. It'd be great to cook with you but hey, if you don't bake either we'll just buy the scones.

BEST OF SPAM SUBJECT LINE: wept

9:26 a.m. - 2005-06-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

head-unbowed
rev-elation
refusal
hissandtell
lizzyfer
lv2write00
laylagoddess
connie-cobb
oed
healinghands
ornerypest