pantoum's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

BEHIND A SCREEN, DIMLY

Came home from work last night and discovered that one of the screens on an upstairs window had fallen and speared my shrubbery. Well damn I thought, I don't have a ladder that tall. Then I realized that I could just dangle a rope from the window, tie one end to the screen, and pull the thing back into place from inside. So that's what I did first thing this morning.

Also put a new leather tie on the slate Welcome sign that my brother-in-law gave me for Christmas and hung it back up by the front door. And I replaced the front-porch light with a yellow bug light so I don't have to fight the moths every dang night when I walk in the door.

Now I need to figure out how to fix my storm door (which blew open too hard in a wind storm and now won't close all the way). I think I may have to replace the hydraulic thingamajiggy that attaches it to the door frame because the rods got bent. Guess I'll go to Home Despot and ask for advice if I can't find a solution in my How to Fix Just About Anything book.

Noticed this morning that it's time to strip and repaint the back deck too ... but not this morning ... and not before I seal and paint the church pew. Right now, however, my only task is to finish up this cup of decaf (sigh) coffee and jump in the shower, singing ... Lawd only knows.

It's drizzling out, foggy. A pretty morning. Wish I could go for a long walk.

Joy Harjo said, in Reconciliation, that we are "naked but for the stories we have of each other" and Muriel Rukeyser noted wisely that "the universe is made of stories, not of atoms."

I have toyed with the idea of returning to school for either a law degree or a Ph.D. for some time now and have narrowed my areas of expertise down to two main themes, both of which involve stories in one way or another—either "trauma writing/writing of witness" (possibly focused strictly on twentiethi and twenty-first century lesbian writers) or a comparative look at the rise of the Religious New Right movement and second-wave of feminism from 1963 to present. Library school intrigues me too.

If I opt for the second theme, then I want to find a way to tie this into literature because I just don't want to do all the statistical analysis a sociological study would entail.

I have always been interested in writing of witness because I believe that artists, for a variety of reasons, have a insatiable need to parse, compare, analyze, study, ponder, probe, recreate, and share their experiences creatively by putting them in a larger context, a different box. Could be a metaphor or a narrative or a painting or a song ... or a blog—depends on the artist. But this larger framework is where the artist transforms isolated experiences, observations, insights, symbols into a larger creation, extrapolates a bigger world, a broader context, a canvas, a song, a poem. And, in our world, violence, random horror, pain play a primary role in many of these creations.

As Adrienne Rich says, "A thinking woman sleeps with monsters."

After reading my short story "The Color of Bruises" at a bookstore a few years ago, a woman told me that I should preface it with a warning that it contains emotionally disturbing words. I thought about that. Isn't that what I want my stories to contain? Disturbing, as in breaking the surface, as in tapping against our quiet, numb lives and complacency, get beyond the surface to real people who long and fuck and feel, the ones who are more than their mortgage payments and commitments and work lives? I want to touch something true enough to provoke a reaction.

Thought the other day that maybe couples can only stay together until they run out of stories to share. Of course, maybe that's why my dearest friends and lovers are creative types who always have new stories to share, who see the world as one big fascinating place to be explored and pondered. (Otherwise, I'd get bored, ADD/distraction girl that I am.)

I have a set of stories that, if you know me long enough, you'll probably hear—and Tree will probably read this list and recognize at least 80 percent of them.

My friend Kayden got me thinking about this list when she said "tell me your water moccasin story again," to which I had to ask "Which one?," since I spent a summer working for an ecology lab and have spent a good bit of time on the water.)

So, off the top of my head, here are the stories I seem to repeat, the ones that, at some level, make up who I am. (Have already written about some of them in this blog):

(1) Jackie and the baby squirrel
(2) Annie and the dead squirrel
(3) Dopeboy and the tombstones
(4) The cop and the loaded gun
(5) Taking apart Mrs. Carver's heater
(6) My January of grits and summer sausage
(7) Cutting off my thumb
(8) Angel dust & highways don't mix
(9) Doober stands up on her motorcycle
(10) Lynn B. finally meets my knuckles
(11) Bird gets teched out of the building
(12) Bird outraces a cop on a red clay road
(13) The sodomy map
(14) The scary Canyonlands bathroom and the Mormon woman who told her children to Brighten the corner where they are
(15) The collapsing ceiling
(16) Bird says "If you feel froggy, baby, jump" to the leader of the pack and lives to tell about it
(17) Bird survives the homophobes at Pike's Peak
(18) Chocolate milk attacks require running jumps from junior high school balconies
(19) Bird wrestles the Fridge
(20) "I Feel Pretty"
(21) The rattlesnake and the rocks
(22) Bird encounters seven wild boar
(23) Alex calls Bird after self-defense class to say she wants to fuck the instructor
(24) Mark Doty tells me I cannot write
(25) Leeeeeading
(26) Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?
(27) The big butt pie
(28) Make it look like a potato chip, damn it!
(29) Fuck you you fucking fuck!
(30) pile-up at the toll booth/bank of Rocia
(31) Saskatchewan
(32) Christine of "dogs love me"fame
(33) Crashing family reunions with Molly to test her Everyone-Has-An-Aunt-Alice theory
(34) trapped in the car wash
(35) trapped in the elevator
(36) the broken heater
(37) rollercoaster bridge
(38) the cops set up a road block that I skidded right around
(39) the great Rhythmfest water basketball match-up
(40) DC junkie destroys porch
(41) Jehovah Witnesses and CJ's bedroom
(42) My grandmother has more friends who are dead than alive
(43) bloody Marys at the parade
(44) the DC Korean woman and the taxi driver
(45) Zulu and her stump (a story I can only tell southerners)
(46) my drowning (which is also the title of a Jim Grimsley novel that I typeset)
(47) armed robberies and triple layer coconut cakes
(48) sinking my C1 in the river
(49) Alligator tagging
(50) self-defense and the sidewalk
(51) Paul Coon and the autopsy
(52) crucifying myself
(53) my stitches party
(54) cleaning up all that blood
(55) Operation Rescue and the long bus ride home
(56) the great church camp swimming test
(57) A near-fatal NYC taxi encounter
(58) Bird throws a trash can at her Indian-hating algebra teacher
(59) Patti LaBelle/BET
(60) dead deer on a lonely fence
(61) water moccasins and sand bags
(62) breaking my thumbs
(63) fun things to do with bicycle innertubes
(64) Cynthia gets hers
(65) Robert Speed
(66) Dopeboy's broken axle
(67) my angry skateboard
(68) Aunt Becky's Christmas carols
(69) Aunt Becky's post-funeral letter
(70) Glittergrrl talks in tongues
(71) Why don't you assume I know how to do my job?
(72) Mama and her tin foil
(73) Mama and her witch hazel
(74) Mama and her plastic wrap
(75) Faces in the windshield
(76) Show of Hands/Jesse Helms deception
(77) Steering wheels don't belong on bicycles
(78) Did that migrant worker just say she's going to cut me?
(79) Don't pick up that Portuguese man-o'-war. child!
(80) Creative things to do with hot pepper juice
(81) Motorcycle wreck premonitions / "Daddy, I'm dead"
(82) Pullies and chains and hard brick walls
(83) Dancing in the rain
(84) The nekkid physical
(85) Trashing an asshole's house
(86) My heat stroke
(87) Rescuing those bales of pot from the incinerator
(88) Henry and the mosh pit
(89) Bird meets the KKK in WalMart
(90) Bernard and his drug connection
(91) Fishing out my contact lens
(92) How you say marconi and cheese? I want to have your love child.
(93) Tammy's mother comes home early
(94) The crow and the Cheetos
(95) Pat travels through the dishwasher
(96) Patricia goes to Ladies' Night
(97) PB's hair and those gawdawful snakes
(98) The Mapplethorpe exhibit
(99) The NEA protest
(100) Encountering my first fan
(101) Eyeballs and high-school football: a bad mix.

SELECTED SPAM: The longest most intense orgasms of your life (O please yes !!!)

9:50 a.m. - 2005-06-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

head-unbowed
rev-elation
refusal
hissandtell
lizzyfer
lv2write00
laylagoddess
connie-cobb
oed
healinghands
ornerypest