pantoum's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

GINGER HAIR AND BABY BLUE JAYS

Saturday morning was downright chilly and I grabbed a sweatshirt out of the closet and threw it in my back seat. Pulled into the apartment complex where I was painting the flats and noticed a baby bluejay sitting right where my tire was about to be. Its beak was open and it was trying to move, but couldn't and looked distressed.

I turned on my flashers and grabbed my sweatshirt, got out of the car and, there it was, the unmistakable golden-red gleam of one of the Ginger's long hairs, a whopping nine months later, staring up at me from my black sweatshirt.

Weird.

I picked the bird up using my shirt and moved the poor thing onto the grass. It didn't want to let go of my shirt, so I sat on the grass with it for a few minutes, saying "you can let go now" and moving very slowly until it finally let go and sat there all plump and pretty in the grass.

I worried that it was hurt, but it must have just been exhausted because, when I went back to check on it a few hours later, it was gone. Saw a mama bluejay in a nearby tree too, so I think it must have made it back to its nest safe and sound after its difficult first flying lesson.

6:39 p.m. - 2005-05-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

head-unbowed
rev-elation
refusal
hissandtell
lizzyfer
lv2write00
laylagoddess
connie-cobb
oed
healinghands
ornerypest