pantoum's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

THE CROSS GENDER CARAVAN SERENADE

I'm wearing my bright orange belt today, which just makes me happy.

Left work after lunch yesterday with a bellyache—I think from stress, truthfully, since I am in a total panic about CeeCee and the fact that Glittergrrl has not agreed to send her child-support payment to me so that I can afford to put CeeCee in after school care.

I told her she must forward an agreement to me in writing and that I won't have enough money to keep CeeCee without it.

Met my writer friend Zulu for lunch yesterday.

I just love her. She's so good. And so smart. And so makes-me-cry-from-laughing-so-hard funny. And such a good writer.

She's southern too. An academic from a working-class background and a LGBT studies expert.

Together, we explore ourselves, our place in the south, what it all means, as we crack jokes that we would never say in front of other people because they just would not get why they're funny. We also toss around random bad southern-fried rock lyrics and Muscles Shoals trivia, and know that the other will chime in before we finish the first sentence.

There is something unique about growing up in this region, leaving, coming back, deciding to live here, and then adding your progressive voice to the mix, and I'm glad we share that connection.

We had southern food, of course, so maybe all that grease got me. Dunno, but I felt somewhat better after napping.

I told Zulu that my reality is that I really hope CeeCee does not come live with me. I want my own time, my quiet life, my quiet space, time to talk with Poetgrrrl about our writing. I even considered asking Poetgrrl if she wants to sublet a room in my house for the summer, since she doesn't want to stay with her folks.

I want that possibility.

Meanwhile, I have a dilemma. See, I volunteered to usher at an outdoor production of As You Like It tonight, but just came across this:

The Cross Gender Caravan—an all transgender writing and performance troupe—are storming the East and West coasts like a gender-bent juggernaut, reading to sold-out bars and packed bookstores. On May 20, three transmen will gun it through the sleepy South. With three books that speak to the diversity of trans-male and trans-planted experience, authors Tennessee Jones, Andre Hewitt and Emil Heiple will be challenging perceptions about gender, class, and regional storytelling. Catch the start of a new ex-punk, post-queer, take-no-prisoners literary movement.

I wanna go!!!!!!!!!!!

Hope the rain continues so the outdoor Shakespeare production is cancelled.

LISTENING TO: ani defranco's Untouchable Face: (so fuck you and your untouchable face. Fuck you for existing in the first place....)

BEST OF SPAM: Broad doldrums

11:17 a.m. - 2005-05-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

head-unbowed
rev-elation
refusal
hissandtell
lizzyfer
lv2write00
laylagoddess
connie-cobb
oed
healinghands
ornerypest