pantoum's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

GUARDIANSHIP UPDATE

In between a bunch of very pressing work deadlines, I became a member of a local gay family listserv and posted "seeking advice" questions—mostly, can you recommend affordable, gay-friendly, safe options for where CeeCee could be while I am at work?

I know public schools have after-school programs, but what about the summer? I hope I can find a local year-round school with an after-school program because that would be ideal. If I can't, then I may ask my neighbor if she keeps children and what she charges, because at least one person drops a kid off/picks him up there every week day.

My boss, BTW, thinks this is the greatest thing since buttered toast, and said "why are you worried about her being uncontrollable? You had no trouble whipping those grown-up brats in your departments into shape in short order. You'll just have to lay out your expectations and stick to them."

Hmf. Guess she didn't see the terror in my eyes.

I also know that my sister changes her mind from day to day and, just a few months ago, said lesbians should not have children, so I am likely doing this research for naught.

So anyway one coworker pays $1,000 a month for her daughter's day care. That's on the high end though, she said.

Jebus, how does anyone afford to have children?

I also found out that CeeCee is too young for the university's summer camp series for employees' kids, but too old for the university's day-care. And I learned that it would cost $180/mo. to add her to my health insurance.

It is ridiculous that her welfare is coming down to fiscal considerations.

4:55 p.m. - 2005-04-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

head-unbowed
rev-elation
refusal
hissandtell
lizzyfer
lv2write00
laylagoddess
connie-cobb
oed
healinghands
ornerypest