pantoum's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

WASTED BREATH

I receive one email after my breakup from the Ginger saying that she missed me and wrote back a broken-hearted good-I'm-glad-you-miss-me, you-deserve-to-miss-me message. Got a couple of voice mails saying she missed me too, but no apology for having an affair and lying to me about it. Then I got a phone call from her pal Angi a month after the breakup saying that the Ginger told Dickboy that she was going to kill herself. Oh, and no one could find her. Could I?

(If her dad can be believed, it turns out that she was just manipulating Dickboy, who had decided to return to his wife, and the Ginger didn't realize that Dickboy might call her friends in a panic).

So, yeah, I was still madly in love with her and went into a panic and spent an entire Saturday trying to find her and feeling guilty about my response to her message and wondering if she had already committed suicide. I finally caught up with her at the police station, where her D&D friend (a cop) took her in for a psychological evaluation.

He came out to the lobby when I arrived and asked if she was okay, said "You are not needed here. Leave."

And I did.

Her father called me that night and said that the Ginger was spending the night with him and that she was mostly furious that everyone knew about her dramatic suicide threats.

And I worried about her.

So the next day I turned a corner on my way to work and there she was, sitting right in front of me in traffic.

I took this as a sign that maybe I was supposed to talk with her, so I followed her through a couple of turns and motioned for her to pull over. She swerved off the road, rushed my car, and said "Stop stalking me or I will have you arrested."

Whoa! I think my mouth probably dropped open because I was that stunned.

And that's the last I saw of her until we both had to be at Verizon at the same time to cancel our stupid family plan.

So fast forward to mid-February when I got a birthday card from her that said "Happy birthday. Hope you are well." I sent a thank you email a few weeks later: "Thanks for the birthday card. How are you?"

Now it's mid April and I just received her reply.

It's taken me a while to reply to this message

I am okay; school keeps me very busy and is very high stress, though.

The cats are doing fine. Cosmos's last blood work was normal, so it seems that his liver problem is still under control. Chaos is subdued.

My family is doing well; Dad is dating a woman he's worked with for a few years. She's very nice and the two of them seem to really enjoy one another's company.

I'm still looking for a summer internship and not sure whether I'll be able to find one. I have a couple of applications out and an interview coming up, so I am still hoping

I hope you and your family are doing well.

Feel free to drop a line if you want to.

G.

I'm not even going to bother to reply.

4:57 p.m. - 2005-04-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

head-unbowed
rev-elation
refusal
hissandtell
lizzyfer
lv2write00
laylagoddess
connie-cobb
oed
healinghands
ornerypest